The Lynchburg City Schools (LCS) Education Foundation, Inc. partners each year with the Lynchburg City Schools to honor the top 15 seniors from E.C. Glass High School and the top 15 seniors from Heritage High School for their superior academic accomplishments. Although the 2021 program was held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic, LCS and the LCS Education Foundation hosted a program that included a warm welcome by School Board Chair Dr. James Coleman, opening comments by Superintendent Dr. Crystal Edwards, and a captivating keynote by University of Lynchburg Associate Professor Dr. Price Blair who shared his wisdom and insights with this class of students as he encouraged their sense of curiosity, gratitude, and belonging. The formal program was followed by individual acknowledgement of each top graduate with a certificate honoring his/her success, group and individual social media recognition, as well as a way to honor a special teacher from his/her K-12 educational experience who has had a lasting impact on the student’s life.  All students and honored teachers also received a gift certificate to enjoy an individual banquet, either by dining in or taking out.

This year’s list of honorees (and their honored teacher):  

E. C. Glass High School: Ben Barnett (Gibbie Petrie-DMS), Drew Flint (Chelsey Dews-BHES), Ryan Gallagher (Cathy Webb-TCM), Sam Hite (Linda Irwin-BHES), Megan Knight (Sarah Gray-ECG), Cynthia Lam (Michael Potts-DMS), William Lankford (Bill Andrews-ECG), Dylan Myaing, Hollins Pierpoint (Patsy Sellers-RSP), Preston Pitzer (Michael Potts-DMS), Wolfgang Ploch (Jeff Steele-CVGS), Kathleen Salmon (Gina DiCarlo-ECG), Randall Trost (Stephen Smith-CVGS), Sean Wiger, Lelia Williams (Aaron Reid-ECG)

Heritage High School: Graysen Arnold (Stephanie Campbell-HHS), Jalasia Jones (Stephanie Campbell-HHS), Maya Lewis (Vernessa Harvey-HES), Jane Lin (Matthew Day-HHS), Dustin Manning (Jason Fleshman-DMS), Aleesha Mays (Laurie Croft-HHS), Sana Mustafa, Alexis Petty (Jenny Ferrell-HHS), Charlie Smallshaw (Stephen Smith-CVGS), Angel Thompson (Leanora Wilkinson-HHS), Maris Tiller (Paula Ryan-PME), Ana Venters (Michael Bremer-SMS), Kevana Woodcox (Alisa Wilkinson-HHS), Desireé Younger (Larry Hart-HHS), Morgan Zahabi (Lauri Robertson-SES)

We thank Centra College of Nursing, Central Virginia Community College, Liberty University, Randolph College, Sweet Briar College, University of Lynchburg, and Virginia University of Lynchburg for their continued support of this event as we congratulate these seniors for their outstanding academic achievements. 

Sweet Briar College          University of Lynchburg logo       Central Virginia Community College        Randolph College
Liberty University         Centra College of Nursing        Virginia University of Lynchburg