Social Studies - 2018-19

VS.10a - Three Branches of Virginia

The student will demonstrate an understanding of Virginia government, geography, and economics by

a) identifying the three branches of Virginia government and the function of each.

Adopted: 2015


  • So that I can understand a government is a system of people, laws, and officials that define and control the country or political division (i.e., state, city, county)  
  • So that I can tell others that the governments of the United States and of Virginia are divided into three branches to prevent any one person or branch from having too much power
  • So that I understand each branch of government has specific powers and jobs to do for its citizens


Virginia state government is made up of three parts (branches) that ensure Virginia laws agree with the state constitution.


The government of Virginia is divided into three branches:

  • The General Assembly is the legislative branch of the Virginia government. It makes state laws, and it is divided into two parts—the Senate and the House of Delegates.
  • The governor heads the executive branch of the state government. The executive branch makes sure that state laws are carried out.
  • The judicial branch is the state’s court system. The judicial branch decides cases about people accused of breaking the law and whether or not a law agrees with Virginia’s constitution.


Updated: May 18, 2018